PDA

View Full Version : 65 pan, oil leak

lioutofplace
09-01-2005, 12:05 AM
Hi guys I just got a restored 65 pan and everything is mint, the only problem is I'm no expert and I don't want to make things worse while I learn the bike and the manual. The fellow I got it off of had everything rebuilt ( photos never lie) however its never been broke in. He needed the $$ so in walked me. It runs rough and he says it just needs the valves adjusted, I've been tinkering with it but am afraid to make things worse. Well one thing leads to another, I fired it up the other day for the wife and oil came pouring out of the front ex pipe. The only thing I can think of is the breather cap was to tight. It didn't do this when I picked it up and ran it for about 45 min so I assume its not that bad. Also the lifter sound like it hammering pretty good could the valve have cracked? let me know what you think. Thanks for any help, I think its going to be one of those years. :)

Wide
09-01-2005, 12:21 AM
lioutofplace

Welcome to the forums

I have a 65 also

Oil pumping out the exhaust is not a good thing

It could be a grip of things wrong

First thing is to make sure it has the correct amount of oil in it

Drain the oil, start it up for about 30 seconds & drain it again

Sometimes the sump fills up

Allthough it seems like you may have bigger issues.

Let us know how you make out

BTW I am always looking for a garage mate for my 65 :D

lioutofplace
09-01-2005, 02:16 AM
Thanks for the info, I did't drain it but I checked it and it was good, I did run it a little harder and the oil stopped and burned off, I'm trying to remember but I don't believe it been run more then 10 hrs since the rebuild. I did get other oil leaks but it looked like tighting up stuff on the oil lines.

Old_Evo
09-01-2005, 03:15 AM
First: Welcome to HCG, you'll get tons of help here on your new scoot.

Second: I hope it just oil settling into the sump and nothing major.