PDA

View Full Version : 1942 Harley WLA Liberator

Liberator
10-16-2005, 05:29 AM
Hello: I just purchased a nicely restored 1942 Harley WLA Military issue Liberator on Ebay. I haven't received it yet, and don't know much about it, except that it looks really neat and exciting.

Can anyone tell me anything about this motorcycle?

How does it ride? Considering that it is a hardtail I am a little concerned about that, since I am used to shock absorbers.

And I don't know anything about a foot clutch or tank shifter?

I am not a mechanic, should I expect that it will always need some sort of tinkering?

Anything else to watch out for such as fluids leaking, etc.

Thanks. I hope to hear from some of you that are are experienced with older Harleys. If I can figure out how to do it I will post some photos.

Thanks.

Wide
10-16-2005, 05:40 AM
Hi Liberator

Welcome to the forums

Cool bike you have there, I'm am old iron guy myself

HWat to expect

Get a service & parts manual plus any other service book you can find

She'll be leaking some, thats normal but it should run ok :D

rwpatton
10-17-2005, 03:26 AM
Welcome to the forum. The old dog will chug along happily and be reltively good if y'a treat her right. Yes, you will need to tweek on'er to keep her happy. She'll do 45 all day without complaint but If you try an wring'er out by running her faster she will complain and show her ass.

Very cool wish I owned one. ;)

RW

Horse
10-17-2005, 03:40 AM
Welcome Liberator to HCG. Great pics of your bike. looks like great restroation.

Liberator
10-17-2005, 04:09 AM
Thanks for the Welcome Guys. It seems like this site is going to be a lot of fun and good information.

I was thinking about putting a sidecar on the old Harley. Does anyone have any comments or suggestions about a sidecar set-up on this bike?

macsRKC
10-18-2005, 06:37 PM
Awsome looking bike! Wecome! bottomsup

Tuxedo7
03-17-2006, 04:57 AM