PDA

View Full Version : monitor....

jazda
01-20-2006, 04:18 PM
Here's one for ya...... I've been using a Compaq presario monitor for about 10 years..... it sometimes blacks out on me for a second or two....... used to do it with the original Compaq tower after about 7 years and it's doing it now with the Dell tower I've had for a year now....... any idea whats going on with this?? I know it's not the tower or the graphic ...... just wonderin' if the monitor is struggling to keep alive....... also it soesn't matter if I'm on the Internet or usin' software........thanks for any help......
B)

Shorty
01-20-2006, 04:38 PM
Might need to replace your video card. The only way I know how to determine which one it is, is to hook your computer to a different monitor and see if its still happening, then its the card.

jazda
01-20-2006, 05:00 PM
Replaced the video card in the old computer as it wouldn't get out of the huge 16 bit deal...... but it still blacked out...... now with new Dell it still blacks out.... thought it might be the monitor...... has done it four times in two hours now...... thanks for your help Shorty!!
B)

D.N.F.
01-20-2006, 05:05 PM
Monitor.

Sell it now or give it to some poor kid for a six pack. It is worth squat.

Monitors are dirt cheap these days. Especially if you don't want a skinny flat screen type.

Newer monitors are better on your eyes these days to.

I sold mine when it was flickering and it lasted another six months. Count yourself lucky.

:)

jazda
01-20-2006, 05:27 PM
Monitor.

Sell it now or give it to some poor kid for a six pack. It is worth squat.

Monitors are dirt cheap these days. Especially if you don't want a skinny flat screen type.

Newer monitors are better on your eyes these days to.

I sold mine when it was flickering and it lasted another six months. Count yourself lucky.

:)

Dokey Okey...... fair warning,,,,,, will check out some newer models soon.... thanks :)
B)

Mungo
01-20-2006, 05:48 PM
Hey Jazda,