PDA

View Full Version : '79 Shovel----clutch adj rod spun into hub.....

ikevin88
07-05-2006, 03:29 AM
Gotta lil prob here.....
The locknut for my adjusting rod came off and the centrifugal force spun the rod in and I can't get it to back out. I've tried an impact driver, but no luck.
Bike's a '79 80" FX w/belt drive 4/spd.....
Looking for suggestions folks.....
Any ideas are welcome...

SoCal

88FLHTC
07-05-2006, 03:33 AM
:unsure: I'm havin trouble following this...

Couldn't you take the pressure plate off the studs? Sounds like you might have troubles at the other end with the throw-out brg..

Or am I reading this wrong ? :wacko:

ikevin88
07-05-2006, 03:53 AM
That's my next step.....I need to check the steels anyway.
I just got this scooter a couple of weeks ago, so I'm still learning what I have. I know that the whole basket has only around 2K on it, but the "chatterless" steels were replaced {on the side of the road} w/stock ones when one of the bearings came out of a plate.
Throwout is what I was thinking, but I wanted to pick some brains before I start pulling s**t apart, ya know?
Guess I'll go ahead and pull/inspect the plates and go from there.....

Ratbike
07-05-2006, 04:37 AM
If I am following you right the stud that adjusts the rod is stuck?

ikevin88
07-05-2006, 04:55 AM
Right. The adjusting rod/screw that's in the center of the hub. The slotted screw that's locked in w/a locknut. The actual screw that you turn to adjust the clutch with.
When the locknut came off, the spinning clutch screwed that puppy in tighter than my ex's jaws....

Bigshovel
07-05-2006, 02:31 PM
You should be able to remove the spring retainer nuts, plate and spring then slide it off. If the adjuster screw is seized in the release disc and you can't get it out, a new one is only about $25 bucks. Either way I would pull it before the throwout bearing gets damaged while trying to get the screw out.

wreckerman
07-05-2006, 09:43 PM