PDA

View Full Version : Mail-merging in Works 7



88FLHTC
12-08-2004, 02:22 AM
caged caged

Need some help everyone..

I'm trying to print the envelopes for our Christmas cards..The info is stored in a Works 7 database and I'm trying to merge it into Word 2002..I'm getting a message that says I need to remove a formula from a file before it can be merged.. I'm stumped !! :wacko:

http://home.ripway.com/2004-6/129400/mergeproblem.jpg

I don't use any word-processing programs very often so I don't know my way around them very well.. Is there any easier way to print out my addresses or a fix to be rid of this damn formula ? It's driving me cuckoo !!! At this point in the evening, I could have written them all out by hand !! hehe...but I've got crappy hand-writing..

Thanks for any help !! drunks

Ironhead80
12-08-2004, 02:28 AM
Try this and see if it works.

http://support.microsoft.com/?id=832797

88FLHTC
12-08-2004, 02:41 AM
Try this and see if it works.

http://support.microsoft.com/?id=832797

Yup..I saw that too...but I get to step 3 and the damn error message pops up.. caged

Thx for that though !! drunks

wreckerman
12-08-2004, 11:39 PM
ironhead80, first do you still have works on your computer? if so instead of using word to import to use works7 word processing program, it also has the ability to make labels and mail merge. if not the best thing to do would be to import the database into either excel or outlook. Word is simply a word processing program that allows merging, but not a database program.

Ironhead80
12-08-2004, 11:43 PM
Wrecker-

I am not the one with the problem, but I think he'll see this. If you are asking me if I have works then no but I can in about 15 minutes..

wreckerman
12-09-2004, 12:09 AM
ih80, sorry, I got so excited from being able to answer a question here, that I grabbed the wrong name. This was a one in twenty million chance that I even knew something about computers..... :P

Ironhead80
12-09-2004, 01:27 AM
Well go grab us a couple lottery tickets!!

Wide
12-09-2004, 01:36 AM
ih80, sorry, I got so excited from being able to answer a question here, that I grabbed the wrong name. This was a one in twenty million chance that I even knew something about computers..... :P


The world just spun the the opisite direction for a minute :lol:


Way to smoken Wrecker :lol:

88FLHTC
12-11-2004, 05:29 AM
^_^ Thx for the help guys..Just like Wreckerman says, I found that Works had a word-processor program built into it but it's hidden in C/Program Files !! ( WksWP ) wtf.. the Works site said they felt it was a " redundant" feature because everyone just used Word anyway. !

I was able to do the job with that program in ten minutes...took me 3 hours of searching on-line to find out how though !! caged bitchin caged


Thanks again !! drunks

wreckerman
12-11-2004, 12:54 PM
you are welcome , i was just happy as shit that i could answer a question in here...... :lol: