PDA

View Full Version : Pushing Oil

JJs63FLH
01-15-2007, 05:12 PM
Anyone farmiliar with early HD oiling system? I need help. My Pan is pumping oil out of the rear exhaust pushrod tube, at the base. I checked the oil pump which is a Shovel type, and both keys are intact and the scavenger gears seam to be in good condition. What should I look for next? Anyone? Thanks.

Wide
01-15-2007, 06:05 PM
Welcome to the forums

Something like this I'd really have to see it in person. Engine condition, internal-external oil lines etc.

You may have something as simple as a clogged branch feeds to the top causing too much pressure to the lifter blocks.

Open the tank & verify that you are getting circulation, verify pressure.

I guess were not just talking a bad gasket here?

I run a 65 pan here as a daily driver, I here what your saying

JJs63FLH
01-15-2007, 06:24 PM
Thanks for responding Wide. The motor has low milage, and the problem occured after riding all day. Like out of the clear blue, bamm, I've got oil everywhere, including all over my rear tire. It has external oil feed from between the jugs to a Y then up to each of the heads. Any ideas?

JJs63FLH
01-15-2007, 06:26 PM
By the way, the cork gaskets are fine. Thanks, JJ.

Nitram_b4
02-06-2007, 01:21 AM
check the pressure relief on the pump
a ball and spring if i recall....I had one stick before after a rebuild

JJs63FLH
02-06-2007, 06:28 AM