PDA

View Full Version : Setting Up Shop

SuperSport
10-25-2007, 09:47 PM
I am attempted to set up a home shop in my garage for servicing, modifying, and repairing mine and my sons' bikes (they are dirt-rats) by accumulating the English and metric tools, Handy pneumatic lift, and a Lincoln-Electric AC225 arc welder (I don't have any experience with acetylene or other welding types).

My immediate problem is the LE arc welder. It's 220 volts and I don't have an outlet. My older brother said to just run an extension through the walls and floor to the basement to the electric dryer outlet. I am no electrician, yet do not want to pay an electrician to wire the garage for 220 access. I went to Home Depot to ask what was involved and they said it would be illegal for me to wire it myself. And I can't find a 220 extension the the correct mail-female terminators for the electric dryer option (to say nothing of putting an access hole the large in my floor).

How have you do-it-yourself fabricator types solved this problem. Or am I completely lost on the technology here?

tia

junior
10-25-2007, 10:16 PM
hey bud-

most dryers use a 30A circuit. most stick welders require a 50A circuit. from that perspective- no can do.

my advice? ditch the stick welder (or keep it- i have two collecting dust) and look at a good 120v mig. they can be used either with or without gas (flux core wire needed without). the operation is basically the same as stick welding. look at the ones from lincoln, hobart, or miller.

j

SuperSport
10-25-2007, 10:27 PM
Thanks for the advice, Junior! I bought the stick welder because that was what I was taught to use in high school shop (35 years ago). I did a google on "120V MIG" and found a wealth of information. Looks like I can pick a Craftsman model up at Sears. Is this a competent tool, or should I look at other brands?

junior
10-25-2007, 11:16 PM