PDA

View Full Version : 08 Stator DEAD at 14,625



Drebbin
12-21-2008, 07:25 AM
Yup. The DREBBIN curse lives. Had to install new stator today -- guess the NEW AND IMPROVED 50 AMP system aint.......

arthureld
12-21-2008, 07:33 AM
Was it covered under warranty?
Damn you ride a lot.

GrumpyLumpy
12-21-2008, 09:42 AM
14625 on an 08 says something......

junior
12-21-2008, 01:33 PM
bud, i've watched your tales from the road for some time now and for the life of me you have the worst luck with bikes of anyone i've seen....

sorry about your troubles.....

j

wreckerman
12-21-2008, 06:52 PM
I think junior said just about all there is to say , but if it helps I lost my stator at about the same , maybe a hair more mileage but still close

Ezlivn
12-21-2008, 07:47 PM
I have about 30,000 miles on my '01 Ultra and i'm on my 3rd stator.

arthureld
12-21-2008, 08:14 PM
At the rate I'm going it will be 15 yrs before I have as many miles as Drebbin. I put 15,000 / yr on my 05 but just haven't been able to get out there on this one much.

Ezlivn
12-21-2008, 08:20 PM
I'm lucky if I hit 5k a year

Drebbin
12-21-2008, 10:36 PM
It indeed seems that way. I'm religious about maintenance and I'm never one to grab a handfull at every light. I may just start replacing stators at every 12k or so..



bud, i've watched your tales from the road for some time now and for the life of me you have the worst luck with bikes of anyone i've seen....

sorry about your troubles.....

j

Drebbin
12-21-2008, 10:37 PM
I'm lucky if I hit 5k a year

You are doing 2 important things -- you own and you ride. Keep up the good work. DREBBIN

CoolMaker
12-21-2008, 11:09 PM
Drebbin, I know you run allot of gear, have you ever turned it all on and done an amperage check to see what you are drawing? Just a thought... ;)

junior
12-21-2008, 11:32 PM
i just put one of the hd 3-phase setups like you got on an older bike. the guy has an 04 ultra with 125,000 miles (that's not a typo) and was going through a stator every 25k. i hope that his works better....

j

Drebbin
12-22-2008, 12:12 AM
Drebbin, I know you run allot of gear, have you ever turned it all on and done an amperage check to see what you are drawing? Just a thought... ;)

I'm cautious about HEATED GEAR and PIAA lights at the same time -almost never. But I wld like to learn how to do amp ck -- can you learn me? DREBBIN

CoolMaker
12-22-2008, 12:18 AM
I have an amp gauge (Snap-On) that sits over the wire and reads amp draw. With that, I can tell the amp draw of the stuff. An easy way also is with the engine off, take a reading on the positive wire leaving the battery with everything turned on. Make sure if you have more than one wire going to the positive post, you read them individually and add them up. ;)

Drebbin
12-22-2008, 12:21 AM
Coolio. Do you do this ad idle AND above 1500 etc?


I have an amp gauge (Snap-On) that sits over the wire and reads amp draw. With that, I can tell the amp draw of the stuff. An easy way also is with the engine off, take a reading on the positive wire leaving the battery with everything turned on. Make sure if you have more than one wire going to the positive post, you read them individually and add them up. ;)

CoolMaker
12-22-2008, 12:25 AM
No, do it with the engine off, that will give you the draw of all the accessories, radio, lights, GPS, etc. If you do it with the engine running it will give you the charging amps. ;)

wreckerman
12-22-2008, 06:04 AM
Dribbin pm me your address , and I will mail a amp meter to you , all you will have to do is hold it on the positive cable and read it ..call it a Christmas present