PDA

View Full Version : New bike - Sportster?

Nebula
01-17-2005, 04:56 PM
Hi all,

New user here. Been lurking for a bit...

I've been riding on and off for the last 30 years, my last Bike being an 1100 Magna. I've got the itch again and think its time for a Harley.

I own vehicles already so I will be using this primarily as a second ride, to and from work with the occasional highway ride, so I am considering an 05 Sportster 1200C.

For what I am going to use it for I'm thinking this is a good choice. I can get into one for about $14K CDN with the next model up (Dyna) pushing over $20K. I even checked out the Victory line and the Sportster is cheaper.

So, my question?

You guys know the bikes, is a Sportster a good choice for what I am going to use it for, 95% City riding?

Girls bike? Maybe but its quick and nimble for a cruiser.

Neb

TexasFatBoy
01-17-2005, 05:08 PM
First off, welcome to the forums! 1beer

Careful calling a Sportster a girls bike - many here will adamantly disagree on that point! :P The Sporty is a great all around bike for what you are looking for. Here's an Article (http://www.harleychatgroup.com/index.php?name=News&file=article&sid=12&mode=&order=0&thold=0) on choosing the right Harley for you. Got lots of good info. The Sporty is a light and nimble bike compared to the bigger V-Twins and does extremely well in twisties and commuter traffic. Probably not the best choice if you plan on running cross-country or on extended tours, but many have with no problems. Heck, one of my local HOG members rode Austin to Richmond for the national HOG Rally last year and loved it.

Best advice would be to go rent one for a day and see what you think of the fit and the ride.

Good luck!

Harley-Ray
01-17-2005, 05:48 PM