PDA

View Full Version : New to riding - Hi ya all

sporstergal
08-22-2004, 05:59 AM
I just started riding - got my license recently and picked up my brand new 2004 883 last saturday. Any helpful hints for a new rider?

Joker
08-22-2004, 06:17 AM
Not much advice for a new rider other than be careful and take a course, BUT as for advice to a newbie on the site! POST SOME PICS! We really like the pictures here.
Joker dr evil

Wide
08-22-2004, 06:27 AM
Hi SporsterGal

Congrats on your new ride, wish you many happy miles.

I would suggest besides the safety course get in a empty parking lot and practice turns, tight turns, take off & turn & start on hills, do that & you'll be good to go.

One more thing, dont wait for someone to drive somewhere you think they are going because when you do they wont.

Enjoy the forums :)

Kruizin
08-22-2004, 06:55 AM
hey sportstergal, and welcome to the forums! ;)

very nice bike you picked out as well.

ride safe!

animal
08-22-2004, 08:00 AM
Hi Sporstergal, welcome. The best piece of adviceand hopes I have for you is for you to keep the shiny side up, and the rubber side down. :D You would be well advised to take an MSF course, and if you want further insight you can read the books by David Hough. Hope to see pics of you and your sporty.

speedman
08-22-2004, 01:16 PM
Welcome to the forums sporstergal. Probably the best thing you can do is take animal's advice and go to a MSF course if you haven't already.

Swyney
08-22-2004, 01:21 PM
Hello and welcome sporstergal - I think the guys have said it all.

I would just to drive defensively, as good a driver the you are the other is the one to watch out for ! :P

bikerdude
08-22-2004, 03:26 PM
Hi sportstergal,
welcome aboard! Iagree with the others,take a rider saftey
course.Ride around on neighborhood streets for awhile.Practice braking,
get to know your bike.This site has great info,have fun!

Spoiler
08-22-2004, 04:00 PM