PDA

View Full Version : Won't Start with out a jump



redgeep87
08-16-2009, 09:41 AM
I have a 05 FLHRCI and I have used a Battery Tender since day one (April 2005). Today the bike left me stranded at Lowes, when I turned it on nothing happen, no display in the odometer and the fuel pump didn't run. I had the wife bring me a battery jumper and the bike started just fine. When I got home I took the battery out and went to Autozone. They said that the battery was fine. I then went to Napa and their machine said the battery was 100% charged with 560 cold cranking amps. If the battery is good what is going on. Also is that the correct cca, it sounds high to me.

CoolMaker
08-16-2009, 10:35 AM
Check the battery cable connections, especially the ground cable....

redgeep87
08-16-2009, 06:05 PM
The battery connections look good and are tight. Is that the correct cca for a stock battery, or did the clerk have the tester on the wrong setting.

Horse
08-16-2009, 09:21 PM
Check the negative cable connection(s) at the frame and starter also.

Wide
08-16-2009, 10:52 PM
remove and clean thoroughly the battery cables. tight is not good enough. if the rubber insulation is melted back exposing the wire they are shot.

I also use star washers to bite in. In some of my machines I need two ground cables to crank them over

redgeep87
08-17-2009, 09:42 PM
Had a bad ground cable. The ends looked good, but I replaced it with a new one and that fixed my problem

Wide
08-17-2009, 10:55 PM
Cool

Those ground cables are killer 1beeers

Horse
08-18-2009, 05:13 AM
Had a bad ground cable. The ends looked good, but I replaced it with a new one and that fixed my problem

Glad you found the problem.

CoolMaker
08-18-2009, 05:16 AM
Glad you found the problem... That is what I told ya' in the first post.. ;)