PDA

View Full Version : Newbie's questions...Night Train?

04-23-2005, 01:03 PM
Hello,

I'm new to riding bikes. I'm planning on purchasing the Night Train.
I just love the way it looks and I was wondering if some of you could give me some pointers.
How does it handle in cities, twisties and or on long cruises? (I'm planning on doing it all)
I'm 5'9" with 30" inseam, would I be comfortable with the drag bars and forward foot pegs on the Night Train?
Also, I know it's a cruiser but how fast does it ride without too much vibration? 0-60?
My other options are Fatboy and VROD. How would you compare with these bikes?
Oh, I will be taking the rider's course before I actually ride.

Thanks in advance for your comments.

wreckerman
04-23-2005, 01:23 PM
welcome to the hcg , it is hard to pick a bike for you all 3 that you mentioned are good bikes , the v rod does get the worse gas milage, about 30 mpg on the road and the duice is the closeiest thing that harley makes to a coustom bike , normealy i would say go rent them first and see what you like best , but you need to compleat your msf corse first so you have your indorcement

Dr.Bob
04-23-2005, 04:59 PM
As for handling, I can tell you that my Fatboy (which is not too different from the NT) handles well in traffic, UK twisty roads and cruising. People will tell you that a softail is too heavy and big to throw around or to get through tight spots. That is rubbish. I hold my own with any other bike through the traffic. It is more about the way you ride than the bike you are on.
I will say that I wish I could corner at more steep angles. That will be solved when I figure out a way to adapt my footboards. Even so, I can still corner really well. As a newbie to bikes, this should not bother you too much for a while anyway.
The night train engine is balanced like the Fatboy innit? If so, forget about vibration.

rush2112
04-23-2005, 10:01 PM