PDA

View Full Version : So, this is weird, or is it?

Slice
04-25-2005, 12:39 AM
2 weeks ago I racked a Pilsner from primary to secondary. It did nothing but sit for 12 days.

On the 13th day I walk downstairs and it's bubbling happily away and looks to have re-started fermentation. It has active "foam" on top now.

I'm no expert, but it really looks like fermentation to me.

Is it wierd for fermentation to re-fire like this.

I'm kinda scrathing my head, but I figure I'll let it go until it calms down again and then check it out.

Thoughts?

Tony
04-25-2005, 01:18 AM
Not uncommon at all. This is a great example of having patience for sure. Ive been told that leaving the secondary alone for a month sometimes is a good thing, as secondary fermentation can start back up a couple weeks after you rack it.

Cool!!!

Slice
04-25-2005, 01:35 AM
Not uncommon at all. This is a great example of having patience for sure. Ive been told that leaving the secondary alone for a month sometimes is a good thing, as secondary fermentation can start back up a couple weeks after you rack it.

Cool!!!

Being a rookie, it's the first I've heard of it.

I'm surprised it would be this active.

Thanks Tony.

Tony
04-25-2005, 01:38 AM
Being a rookie, it's the first I've heard of it...

Sometimes just moving the secondary can cause it to happen as well. Even vibrations on the floor and stuff. Believe me, I asked a heck of a lot of people about stuff like this, so Im just passing theoir knowledge on really :D

HeadDoc
04-25-2005, 08:04 PM
not unusual. with lagers when you rack to secondary it is possible for the beer to warm up a little bit, that can jump start a fermentation again. many times i'll take a lager back up to 65 degrees after the primary fermentation for a couple of days just for that reason. then put in secondary and bring back down to lagering temp again and leave it for a month!

um um good! B)

gliderider94
04-25-2005, 10:09 PM