Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: S&S engine and starter problems

Junior Member Biker

S&S engine and starter problems

I'm a mechanic ( ducati ...) and I got a Harley for a little price, but there are some problems, which I knew.
    I'm not quit familiar with the HD engine types etc. My engine is a S&S 96 CI Evolution style. I noticed already that the starter is not ok. And it seems lots of people worked already on it to find the real problem. I was thinking of buying a spyke Hi-torque starter motor but can somebody tell me if this is a good idea? and I have to make a choice for Big twin model 89-93 or Evo Big twin 94 -99 ? And what is the difference between both models or how can I recognize wat I have .

Senior Member Hardcore Biker springer-'s Avatar

Re: S&S engine and starter problems

What is the actual problem with your starter? Does it turn the engine over too slow or not at all? Does it click and make grinding noise? Can you hear the starter motor spin when it should be trying to start it?
    http://www.bigboyzheadporting.com

Big Boyz Street Heads
    207-242-8374 Cell Phone
    207-621-8089 Port/Dyno Shop

Junior Member Biker

The main problem I have was that the motor doesn't turn fast enough. Sometimes the startermotor doesn't even want to come out. And finally the startermotor get too warm .
    Checked the cables: ok, checked the ground : ok . Tried with a heavier HD battery , just the same.
    I havent built out the starter yet.

You may want to pull the plugs and see if the engine turns over at regular speed. This is to confirm that your problem is with the higher compression of the S&S motor. If it is, check to see if you have compression releases installed. They may be electric and mounted in the center of the head. You would need to look down from the top, most likely with the gas tank removed to see if they are there. It may be that they need to be hooked up or you might need to find out if they are working. Just a guess.